Su carrito está vacío.

America's Islamic Clothing and Books Shopping Site - Worldwide Shipping

18 May '16

Understanding the Shia (Shiite) Muslims

Publicado por Priyanka S en Islamic culture
The following are certain key facts about Shia Muslims -
  • Shias are the second largest denomination of the Islamic faith after Sunni Islam.
  • Shias believe that they adhere to the teachings of the Prophet Muhammad and the religious guidance of his family whom are referred to as the Ahl al-Bayt,
  • Sunni Muslims believe that Shiites deviate from, and in certain cases even violate the teachings of the Prophet Muhammad and the religious guidance of his family.
  • Unlike the Mainstream Sunni Muslims, Shiites consider the first three ruling Sunni caliphs a historical occurrence and not something attached to faith. The word “Shia” refers to a follower of the faction of Imam Ali according to the Shia ideology. You can also buy islamic history books to know more about these details.

-> Shia Muslims believe that Ali was appointed successor by Muhammad's direct order on many occasions, and therefore he is the rightful leader of the Muslim faith.

-> The collection of Hadith venerated by Shia Muslims is centered around narrations by members of the Ahl al-Bayt, while some Hadith by narrators not belonging to the Ahl al-Bayt are not included (those of Abu Huraira, for example).

-> Unlike Sunnis, the Shia holy book Makalmaat-e-husainia does not hold the following in high regard: Anas Bin Malik, Abu Huraira, Amr bin Aas, Ameer Maawia (companions of the prophet) and Ayesha (wife of the prophet)

-> Shias constitute no more than 10% of the total world Muslim population.

-> Most Shiites reside in Iran, Iraq, Pakistan, India, and Azerbaijan.

-> The largest percentage of Shiites (Shias) population is in Iran (roughly 90

-> 20% of India’s Muslim population is believed to be Shiite as well.


Shias (Shiites) are divided into the following branches:

o    Twelvers (Ithna Ashariyya) – They recognize the following twelve Imams:

1) Imam Ali ibn Abi Talib - al-Murtadha (The Satisfied One)

2) Imam Hasan ibn Ali - al-Mujtabah (The Chosen One)

3) Imam Hussein ibn Ali - Sayyid al-Shuhudah (The Lord of the Martyrs)

4) Imam Ali ibn Husayn - Zayn al-�bid�n (The Jewel of the Believers)

5) Imam Muhammad al-Baqir  (The Spreader of Knowledge)

6) Imam Jaafer al-Sadiq (The Truthful One)

7) Imam Musa al-Kazim (The Patient One)

8) Imam Ali al-Ridha (The Accepted One)

9) Imam Muhammad al-Taqi (The Pious One)

10) Imam Ali al-Naqi (The Pure One)

11) Imam Hasan al-Askari (The One with an Army)

12) Imam Muhammad al-Mahd� (The Rightly-Guided One)

o       Ismaili

o       Zaidiyyah

o       Alawites

o       Druzes

o       Alevi (Sufi order)

o       Bektashi (Sufi order)

o       Kubrawiya (Sufi order)

o       Noorbakhshi (Sufi order)

o       Oveyssi (Sufi order)

o       Qizilbashi (Sufi order)

o       Hamadani (Sufi order)

o       Tijānī (Sufi order)

o       Fatimid (Sufi order)

Check out the collection of books on Prophet Muhammad's life

Liquid error (templates/article line 27): Could not find asset snippets/relatedblogs.liquid